Author Interview:Lisa Orachard

20111210_ABS_1296[1] The Super Spies and the Cat Lady Killer 500x750

This week I am reading The Super Spies and the Cat Lady Killer by Linda Orchard.

This is her bio:

Lisa Orchard grew up loving books. She was hooked on mysteries by the fifth grade and even wrote a few of her own. She knew she wanted to be a writer even then.  “The Super Spies and the High School Bomber” is the second book in the “Super Spies” series. Her first book was published in March of 2012 and it has received rave reviews.

After graduating from Central Michigan University with a Marketing Degree she spent many years in the insurance industry, pining to express her creative side.  The decision to stay home with her children gave her the opportunity to follow her dream and become a writer. She currently resides in Rockford Michigan with her husband, Steve, and two wonderful boys. Currently, she’s working on the third novel that stars the same quirky teens. When she’s not writing she enjoys spending time with her family, running, hiking, and reading.

Here is her Author Interview.

When did you decide to be an author?
I’ve wanted to be an author since fifth grade, but it wasn’t until I had children of my own that I decided to pursue publication.

What was your first piece published?
“The Super Spies and the Cat Lady Killer”. It was published in March of 2012. The second book came out in July of 2012 and that one is titled “The Super Spies and the High School Bomber”. I just sent the third book in the series to the publisher and I’m really excited about that one too.

What character is most like you?
I would have to say Sarah. I can be extremely focused like she is when she’s trying to accomplish a goal. However, I wasn’t as strong as she is when I was her age. I wish I had been.

What was the first story you wrote as a child?
I remember writing stories in fifth grade but I can’t remember what they were titled. The first one that I can remember the title was “The Mystery of the Chinese Tea House.” I’ve always loved mysteries, so it was no surprise to anyone when I started writing them for publication.

Do you have any advice for anyone writing a book?
Keep on writing and don’t let the rejection get you down. I learned some great information from an agent who rejected my manuscript. She told me that it would be better written in third person, (I had originally written it in first person narrative) and she was right, because as soon as I rewrote it, a publisher accepted it. (Wink)

Who is your favorite author?
It depends on my mood at the moment. I’ve always loved Harper Lee and her book “To Kill a Mockingbird”, but I also love Stephen King. He has a great way of developing his characters.

What technique do you use to write (make it up as you go, plan it)?
I come up with an idea, first. From there, I usually know the beginning of the story and how I want it to end. The middle is what I make up as I go along.

What piece are you working on now?
I’m working on a Young Adult Coming of Age story. I’m excited about it! I can’t wait for my beta reader to read it and tell me what she thinks. I’ve also just sent the third Super Spies book to the publisher.

What is your favorite book?
“To Kill a Mockingbird”. I’ve never outgrown that story. (Wink)

Did you receive any awards for a book of yours?
Not yet. But there’s still time! (Wink)

If you have a second, check out my books, the covers, blurbs, and buy links are below, along with my social media sites.

“The Super Spies and the Cat Lady Killer”

The Super Spies and the Cat Lady Killer 500x750

Blurb:

This book opens in a small town in Michigan where fifteen-year-old Sarah Cole is stuck spending the summer at her Aunt and Uncle’s with her sister, Lacey. She’s not happy with the situation until she befriends a girl named Jackie. The three girls stumble upon the ruthless murder of a reclusive neighborhood woman. One of the officers investigating the crime believes the girls are responsible for her death. Fearing that this officer will frame them for the murder, the girls organize their own detective squad. They become the Super Spies and start their own fact-finding mission.  The Super Spies can’t understand why anyone would want to murder the “Cat Lady” until they start digging into her past and discover a horrible crime that happened thirty years ago. They uncover a connection between the two crimes and attempt to bring this information to the police, only to be reprimanded for meddling in the inquest. Not only are the girls upset by the admonition, but they also struggle with the fact that their exuberant investigating could provide a legal loophole allowing the killer to go free. To make matters worse, the police don’t even believe them. Frustrated by this turn of events, the Super Spies realize it’s up to them to snare the Cat Lady killer, or die trying…

 
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Super-Spies-Lady-Killer-ebook/dp/B007JZH61K

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-super-spies-and-the-cat-lady-killer-lisa-orchard/1109518725?ean=2940014338202

“The Super Spies and the High School Bomber”

TheSuperSpiesandtheHighSchoolBomber 500x750

 

Blurb:

This book opens in a small town in Michigan where Sarah and her sister Lacey are now living with their Aunt and Uncle. Still reeling from the fact her parents have disappeared, Sarah starts the school year with her new friend Jackie Jenkins. When Sarah learns the school has been bombed, she’s filled with dread. Uncle Walt is a teacher, and he was in the school when the bomb exploded. Taking matters into her own hands, Sarah decides to search for him. The rest of the Super Spies are right behind her. When a fireman chases them away from the school, Sarah becomes suspicious. She decides to investigate. The FBI arrives on the scene. Sarah realizes this bombing could have even bigger implications. Searching for the bombers, Sarah is introduced to the world of terrorism. She fears that the bombing and her parents’ disappearance are connected and terrorists are involved. To make matters worse, the bombers are determined to finish the job. Can the Super Spies find the bombers before it’s too late?

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Super-Spies-School-Bomber-ebook/dp/B008P8O7OY

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-super-spies-and-the-high-school-bomber-lisa-orchard/1112263058?ean=2940014992244

Lisa Orchard’s Social Media Sites:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Lisa-Orchard/328536613877060?ref=hl

Twitter: https://twitter.com/lisaorchard1

Website: http://www.lisaorchard.com/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Author Interview:Lisa Orachard

  1. Wow, the more I know about you, the more we seem on the same path! Meet you on the red carpet, Lisa!

  2. Lisa Orchard says:

    Thanks Gaea, for having me as your guest today! I appreciate it!

  3. Rita Monette says:

    Hey Lisa. Gaea’s blog is a great place to be!!

  4. sarastinson says:

    Good job with the interview. I bet your story in the fifth grade was good too!

  5. Lisa Orchard says:

    Thanks Sara! It must have been because my sister found it where I had hidden it under my bed and she read it and told everyone about it! LOL! 🙂 She’s an avid reader of my books now and can’t wait for the third one to come out! Thanks for stopping by Sara! I appreciate your support!

Leave a comment