When the Butterflies Came Cover Art  from Erin

 

 

A couple of months ago I read The healing Spell by Kimberly Griffiths Little. Here is her author interview:the healing Spell

 

         When did you decide to be an author?

When I was about 9-10 years old, I started dreaming about becoming a writer. Books were my best friends and went everywhere I went (car, school, dentist, church, trips). Books were magical and I wanted to try to create that same kind of magic. I scribbled stories and poems all through my school years—but I had no idea how hard it would be or how long it would take!

         What was your first piece published?

I knew I always wanted to write novels, but I took a short story course and since they were faster to write and polish, I wrote a lot of them and my first couple dozen published pieces were short stories or articles for magazines, like Cricket. My first book is called Breakaway, a story set in New Mexico along the Rio Grande about a boy who wants to play soccer but his family is very poor. He finds an old soccer ball in the garbage dumpster and starts practicing, then meets a girl who’s a star soccer player who teaches him—and he learns some secrets about his family that changes his life.

         What character is most like you?

All my characters have a little bit of me in them, but none of them are based on me or my life—or anyone I know, actually! They’re a composite of people I’ve met living in places I love to live or places I’ve visited a lot. I love to research and bring a unique setting alive!  But my character of Livie from The Healing Spell, was a character I spent a lot of time (many, many years!) writing about to get her just right and really deepen her character and emotions.

         What was the first story you wrote as a child?

I honestly do not remember! But one of my first stories was a ghost story in a haunted house in 6th grade and we got to make our stories into a book with pictures. I loved that.

         Do you have any advice for anyone writing a book?

Read a lot and write a lot! Take writing classes, find other people who like to write and form a writing group to get feedback from each other. Keep striving to learn the craft of writing and improve and polish before you start trying to submit your work to publishers.

         Who is your favorite author?

That’s a hard question, I love so many authors! I love Katherine Paterson, Lois Lowry, Barbara O’Connor, Caroline Starr Rose, and Carolee Dean. (The last 3 are friends of mine!)

         What technique do use write (make it up as you go, plan it)?

I start daydreaming about a certain character who lives in some kind of really cool place who has a problem of some kind. I used to plan a lot more when I first started writing many years ago, but I still do some planning, although not tons of details so I can be surprised along the way. I do figure out the major plot points and where I’m headed. I like to use 3×5 cards to do my plotting, writing one scene on each card and then laying them out on a table or the floor to rearrange and figure out what’s missing.

         What piece are you working on now?

I’m working on a new middle-grade novel for Scholastic that’s due next week to my editor. It will publish summer of 2014. It’s about some magical fireflies and time slipping and a cursed doll. And I have a new book coming out April 1 – which is very soon – called WHEN THE BUTTERFLIES CAME. It’s a magical mystery and I’m very excited about it!

         What is your favorite book?

If you mean my favorite book out of the books I’ve personally written, picking a favorite book is like choosing a favorite child – I love them all! And for different reasons. They’re all special to me in many ways. And most books have their hard parts and their easy parts to write.

My favorite book when I was growing up was The Little White Horse by Elizabeth Goudge. It’s a magical, wonderful book set in the 1800s about a girl going to live at a mysterious manor house in England. I also love The Westing Game and Harriet the Spy.

         Did you receive any awards for a book of yours?

I’ve been blessed to receive the Southwest Book Award, the Whitney Award, a Crystal Kite Finalist Award, New Mexico Book Award Finalist, and a Bank Street College Best Book of the Year Award.

My website:

http://www.kimberleygriffithslittle.com

Book Trailers:

THE HEALING SPELL:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5k4VaODgUuA

CIRCLE OF SECRETS:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xiTQhFXi0uo

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kimberleygriffithslittle

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. sharonledwith says:

    Lovely interview, ladies! And congrats on your awards, Kimberley! Cheers!

  2. Thank you so much, Sharon! And thank you Gaea and “Mom” for the interview and featuring me here. I enjoyed it! Hope your days are filled with Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

