Author Interview:Linda Benson

This week I am reading The Girl Who Remembered Horses by Linda Benson here is her author interview:

Linda Benson is the author of several young adult and middle grade books, including The Girl Who Remembered Horses, Walking the Dog, Six Degrees of Lost, Finding Chance, and The Horse Jar (which has also been translated into Spanish.) Her passion for nature and animals often finds its way into her writing. She has been a veterinary assistant, zoo keeper, race track groom, realtor, children’s librarian, and owned both a native plant nursery and a saddle shop. She lives in the Pacific Northwest with her husband and a variety of animals, and is hard at work on her next book.

 

  •  When did you decide to be an author?

I wanted to be an author ever since the second grade, but didn’t get started until much later in life. I have always loved to read, and my love of books was probably the impetus to become an author.

 

  • What was your first piece published?

My very first published piece was an article in a farm magazine about seeing a newborn foal for the first time. My first published book was Finding Chance, from Mondo, an educational publisher.

 

  • What character is most like you?

I think we all put a little of ourselves in characters that we write. Although I’d love to say I am like Sahara, from The Girl Who Remembered Horses (and I have always loved and been obsessed with horses) I believe that she’s much more brave and daring than I am in real life.

 

  •  What was the first story you wrote as a child?

I wrote a lot of stories in school, and even won a prize for one that I sent in. In high school, I wrote tons of poetry, and as a young adult with an interest in music (I play piano and guitar) I wrote a lot of songs.

 

  • Do you have any advice for anyone writing a book?

Join a critique group. When you are first starting to write, it’s really hard to see your own work objectively. Probably the most helpful thing for a writer is learning to accept feedback, and learning how to edit.

  •  Who is your favorite author?

I have too many to list, and I read everything from picture books to middle grade to young adult to literary adult fiction. I don’t read really like zombies and werewolves, though. I like realistic fiction most of all.

  •  What technique do you use when you write (make it up as you go, plan it)?

I make it up as I go. Usually when I start a novel, I have a character speaking to me in my head, wanting their story told. I set them on the page, begin writing, and then see where they take me.

  •  What piece are you working on now?

I am working on a sequel to The Girl Who Remembered Horses. I hadn’t originally planned a sequel, but many of my readers wanted to know what happens next. And so, I will write more.

  •  What is your favorite book?

How can a person who loves books as much as I do possibly pick just one book? Okay, I’ll mention one:  Charlotte’s Web, by E.B. White. And I pick this one for the message – if it has saved the life of even one spider, or made people look at animals in a different light – isn’t that just fantastic??

 

  • Did you receive any awards for a book of yours?

Not any awards yet, but at the moment, The Girl Who Remembered Horses is sitting at #1 on two lists at Goodreads:  Fantasy Books featuring Horses and Best YA Horse Books. Also, my second book, The Horse Jar, was translated into Spanish by the publisher. That was kind of an honor.

 

To find out more:

Visit her website: http://www.lindabenson.net

Her blog: http://www.lindabenson.blogspot.com

Find her on Facebook: http://facebook.com/LindaBensonAuthor

The Girl Who Remembered Horses on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Girl.Remembered.Horses.LindaBenson

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15725224-the-girl-who-remembered-horses

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Girl-Who-Remembered-Horses-ebook/dp/B00635UBW8/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1324873387&sr=1-1

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-girl-who-remembered-horses-linda-benson/1107076060?ean=2940014990257

Musa Publishing: http://www.musapublishing.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=5&products_id=78

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Author Interview:Linda Benson

  1. sharonledwith says:

    Wonderful interview, Gaea! Wow, Linda, you’ve had many feathers in your cap, but ‘author’ seems to suit you just fine. BTW – I always capture spiders in my house and set them free or in the basement depending on the season. Hubby thinks I’m nuts! Charlotte’s Web rules!

  2. Linda Benson says:

    Thanks for posting this interview on your blog, Gaea! Much appreciated. And Sharon, you and I are birds of a feather – spider savers rule, and long live books like Charlotte’s Web!

Leave a Reply

