The Legend of Ghost Dog Island Review

This week I read The Legend of Ghost Dog Island  by Rita Monette.

Book Cover

Here is a short summary:

    Moving is nothing new for ten-year-old Nikki Landry. Her fisherman father relocates their raggedy old houseboat several times a year in search of a place where the crabs bite like crazy and to rest his desire to move. However, this move has brought her to a mysterious bayou with a legend concerning a nearby island.
Nikki learns that this local legend about something evil inhabiting those swamps, stealing the souls of dogs, which would explain the strange howling, sounds. Papa reassures her there’s nothing on the island but gators and snakes. He’s spent his whole life trapping and is probably right, right? But Nikki and her new friends uncover strange happenings from years ago that may have started the old legend with out any adults help. When her beloved beagle goes missing can Nikki get enough courage to go to the island and save him?

Here is what I like about this book:

This book was so good that I finished it in 2 hours. The character did some stupid things, but don’t they always? She steals from a friend’s teacher, disobeys her mom and dad to get her dog back, and goes to the “haunted island” and “haunted house”.

 But she also helps rescue a woman that is thought to be dead, breaks a curse, and is a good friend to her dog.

1a-Nikki and Snooper

 I liked Nikki because she was a brave adventurous tomboy like me.

 I think everybody should read this book because it puts a little thrill in everybody’s life. I liked because it pulled me into it. I started reading on my Kindle and the next time I looked I was 75% of the way through.

You can buy The Legend of Ghost Dog Island here.

And visit Rita Monette here.

 

 Next week I am reading The Last Timekeepers and the Arch of Atlantis by Sharon Ledwith.

I’m in need of some more book ideas for the next few months so please go to the Suggest a Book page on my blog and give me a suggestion.  (Hint: go to the about me page to see what types of books I like) Thanks a lot!!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Legend of Ghost Dog Island Review

  1. I loved The Legend of Ghost Dog Island, too. I like books with some scary and mysterious elements, and this had both. Great review, Gaea, and a great read, Rita.

  2. sharonledwith says:

    I think everyone needs a little thrill in their lives, Gaea! Great review, and well done Rita Monette! Cheers!

  3. Lizzie says:

    Loved The Legend of Ghost Dog Island, too!

Leave a Reply

